Tags

, ,

It is definitely getting easier to think about living a gluten free life. Although, I miss a good loaf of sourdough dripping with butter! Luckily for me, this is a healthy lifestyle change not mitigated by gluten intolerance, so if I drop off the train now and then, I’m not going to beat myself up. On the other hand, I am making conscious decisions when determining what I will eat.

As an example, I took a work colleague out to dinner last week, at Derek’s in Manayunk, PA. She ordered a pizza (pesto and kalamata olives and cheese, thin crust) and I ordered a chopped salad. We split with each. So, yes, I ate gluten pizza, but three small pieces, instead of the whole darn thing. I have not cooked with gluten since I started this eighty days ago.

Here’s a run down of the products I’ve used so far:

This is a great brownie mix. I take them out of the oven a few minutes before done so the cake is moist and chewy. This is my go to brownie now.

20120916-172457.jpg

This pizza mix made two large pizzas, enough for 4-6 people. Next time I will only use half the bag. The dough is allowed to rise and when baked has a good chew and browns up nice.

/>;20120916-175450.jpg

20120916-173102.jpg

This one surprised me. A frozen rice disc. I figured it was going to be dry and taste like cardboard. I was wrong. It bakes to a nice crunch on the edge and remains chewy in the middle. A bit pricey at Whole Foods, but I will buy it again.

20120916-173618.jpg

Today’s idea: Bake Macarons

Okay. I know this sounds like a bad idea. I’m not a baker. I don’t use recipes when I cook. But I know if I bake I need to get out the measuring cups and spoons! My daughter loves these cookies. She’s in NYU near several French bakeries. It’s almost the holidays and I do a marathon cookie days with a great friend so I need to find something spectacular for this years gluten free cookie. Why not a macaron? It’s almond meal, sugar,and egg whites. This is what the cookie looks like from the cookbook:

20120916-174450.jpg

And what mine look like getting ready to bake.

20120916-174622.jpg

Here’s the finished product.

20120916-181942.jpg

I’m certainly happy to hear about your cooking gluten free adventures too. And how you are thinking about the upcoming holiday season.

