Tags

,

20120825-104340.jpg

So, during this life change journey, I made a promise to myself that I’d try to make as much food myself. To date, I’ve tried pasta and pizza. Both experiments in gluten free dough, and a lesson to read ALL the directions before doing anything!

I used the pasta recipe from Gluten Free Girl and the Chef. It came out dry so next time I need to add more liquid. I made a chicken lasagna. You can read about that here.

Next I tried making pizza dough from a mix.

20120825-101935.jpg

The mix made two pizzas, but I only added enough liquid for one with all the flour. I kept wondering why the directions said the dough should be like cake batter, but mine was more cookie dough.
No worries. I halved the dough, plopped it on the pan, and patted it out to the desired size. Cooked to directions, added toppings (chicken sausage, red pepper sauce, cheese) and baked again. Everyone said it was quite good. Having fresh pizza is important in my house. So finding a good mix, or making my own, will make us all happy.

Today’s Foray into Baking

Next on my list is baking. It’s the weekend. I love biscuits, muffins, pancakes, or scones. I used to use a multi-grain mix from Trader Joes or heart healthy Bisquik. Now I need to bake from multi-flours. I finally have a good selection and when I picked up Gluten Free Makeovers by Beth Hillson, I was happy to see a recipe for flour blends depending on what you’re planning to make.

Previously this week, I hade made an apple berry crisp, and wanted to use it up. I decided to make apple muffins.

Feeling like a chemist, I brought out all the flours and got to work blending white rice, white sorghum, potato starch, tapioca starch, and buckwheat flours.

20120825-103841.jpg

I was thrilled to see this handy table, because I didn’t have the original in-recipe amaranth flour, but figured I could substitute buckwheat since it was in the high protein column.

20120825-103126.jpg

I emptied my white flour tin, washed and dried, it now holds my self-rising blend.

20120825-103701.jpg

Hot from the oven and right to my tummy.

20120825-104150.jpg

The muffins had a crunchy like bite, but were moist and delicious. SCORE! I definitely see more muffins in my future.😍

