20120825-183938.jpg

Since I turned 50 I’ve been thinking about my life and how it could be better. I also had terrible health news at my 51st checkup. Thanks to a familial history of heart disease, diabetes, and obesity, my life is headed down a bad path and I really need to make change. But here’s the thing; I’m lazy and lack will power. I read about people changing their lives and I really wonder how they did it? How does someone change their destiny? Wake up one day and say, this is it, and the rest is different?

I’m having a hard time making that transition. I know I must, but I don’t. What does that say about me? I’ve got excuses for all of it.

I ordered Naturally Thin by Bethenny Frankel several months ago. It’s been staring, no GLARING at me from the kitchen counter every day. So, today I started reading it. Great, Bethenny, you changed your life…Yama yada, yada. The rules you espouse are all common sense (I’ve only read 1-6 so far) and this is what I’ve gleaned so far:

Eat want you want, but not all of it- share it, save it, or leave it.
Downsize your portions.
Make better choices, but keep in mind that food needs to make you feel good too.
Stop eating when you feel like the yumminess factor has dissipated.
Sit down, slow down.

So this is what I ate, at the table…and an hour later I was hungry.

20120704-165754.jpg

So I ate a cheese stick, while watching tv, for the protein…and still hungry.

So I ate a hard boiled egg, sitting in the kitchen, more protein…and that’s where I am right now.

